Wondering how to become a Licensed Contractor or if you need to be Licensed? The following are the top questions we hear and answer guiding you and our students through becoming a Licensed Contractor successfully.
Who can become a licensed contractor?
A licensed contractor must be 18 years of age or older and have the experience and skills necessary to manage daily activities of a construction business, including field supervision, or be represented by a qualifying individual with the necessary experience and skills.
Who must be licensed as a contractor?
All businesses or individuals, who construct or alter any building, highway, road, parking facility, railroad, excavation, or other structure in California, must be licensed by the California Contractors State License Board if the total cost (labor and materials) of one or more contracts on the project is $500 or more. Contractors must be licensed before submitting bids.
How much does a license cost?
In addition to the financial requirements that must be met, it costs $250 for an original application fee (nonrefundable) and $150 for the initial license fee for one classification. The license must be renewed every two years. Currently, the renewal fee is $300.
How can you apply?
The Application for Original Contractor’s License is available at any office of the Contractors State License Board. It is also possible to order or download an application form from our Website, www.cslb.ca.gov, call the CSLB’s 24-hour automated information line, (800) 321-CSLB (2752), or write to the CSLB, at: P.O. Box 26000, Sacramento, CA 95826, to request an application.
What kind of experience is required?
At least four years of journey-level experience is required to qualify for the exam. Credit is given for experience as a journeyman, foreman, supervising employee, contractor, or owner-builder.
What are the other requirements?
All applicants must be fingerprinted and undergo a criminal background check before a license is issued at an additional cost to the applicant.
Is there an examination requirement for a contractor’s license?
Yes, the qualifying individual for a contractor’s license is required to pass law and trade examinations, unless he or she meets the requirements for a waiver. An examination notice will be sent at least three weeks prior to the examination date.
Is school necessary?
Although there are no educational requirements to qualify for a contractor’s license, it is highly encouraged to seek assistance from a school that specializes in helping students pass the Contractor State License Board Exam.
For more detailed information on becoming a California licensed contractor, see the CSLB publication, Blueprint
for Becoming a California Licensed Contractor or visit our Website, www.cslb.ca.gov or visit MakeMeAContractor.com for more information today.